top of page

Tell Us About Your Case

"Lawyer of the Year"

Harris County Criminal Lawyers Association (2014)

Houston Misdemeanor Lawyer

Misdemeanor Lawyer in Houston - Over 40 Years Experience

Are you looking for an experienced Misdemeanor Lawyer in Houston to help you defend a class A or class B misdemeanor? Whether you're facing DWI, assault charges, theft and shoplifting charges, drug charges, family violence charges or any other misdemeanor charge, choosing the right lawyer is often the determining factor in beating a misdemeanor case.  Mercer & Keirnan Misdemeanor Lawyers have more than 40 years of combined experience defending misdemeanor cases in Houston and Harris County.

Call 713-236-9700 Today - Free 24/7 Consultations!

Experienced Houston Misdemeanor Attorney

Houston Misdemeanor Lawyer

Our Misdemeanor Attorneys Handle All Misdemeanor Cases

Mercer and Keirnan have some of the best criminal defense attorneys in Houston and handle all Misdemeanor cases, including but not limited to the Class A and Class B Misdemeanors below.

Punishment Ranges for Class A and Class B Misdemeanors

The punishment range for Class A Misdemeanors under Texas Penal Code Section 12.21 is 0 to 365 days in county jail. The punishment range for Class B Misdemeanors under Texas Penal Code Section 12.22 is 0 to 180 days in jail. To give you the best chance of avoiding jail time for your misdemeanor offense, retain an experienced Houston misdemeanor lawyer to fight for you.

 

The punishment ranges for Class A and Class B Misdemeanors can be enhanced if you have a prior conviction. See Section 12.43 of the Texas Penal Code for more information. For those charged with a Class B Misdemeanor who have any prior convictions on their record, the punishment range is enhanced to a minimum of 30 days in jail, with 180 days the maximum. For anyone charged with a Class A Misdemeanor who has a prior conviction, the punishment range is enhanced to a minimum of 90 days in jail, with 1 year the maximum.

 

To avoid any jail-time for your misdemeanor case, it is imperative that you contact a Houston misdemeanor attorney with substantial experience defending misdemeanor cases. Criminal defense attorneys Michael Mercer and John "Casey" Keirnan have more than 40 years of combined experience defending all Class A and Class B Misdemeanor cases in Harris County. Free consultations with either attorney are available.

Contact an Experienced Houston Misdmemeanor Attorney

If you or someone you know is facing a misdemeanor charge in Houston and the Harris County area, contact an experienced Houston misdemeanor attorney at Mercer & Keirnan Criminal Defense Attorneys for a free evaluation. Attorneys Michael Mercer and John "Casey" Keirnan are available at any time to consult with you about your misdemeanor case.

 

FREE 24/7 CONSULTATIONS

EXPERIENCED HOUSTON MISDEMEANOR LAWYER

(713) 236-9700

FAQs for Misdemeanor Charges in Houston

Can I go to Jail for a First Time Misdemeanor Charge?

The technical answer is yes, you can go to jail for a first time misdemeanor charge in Texas--up to 1 year for Class A Misdemeanors and up to 180 days for Class B Misdemeanors. An experienced misdemeanor attorney would tell you that it is highly unlikely to receive a jail sentence for a first time misdemeanor charge. Every case is different, however, and a prosecutor may want jail time for certain misdemeanor charges, such as one in which someone was seriously injured.

 

Hiring your own attorney vs. going with a public defender will help you avoid jail time for a first time misdemeanor charge. Our number one goal at Mercer and Keirnan is to get your misdemeanor case dismissed. Harris County also offers many first time offenders the chance to complete a pretrial intervention or pretrial diversion program, which would result in a dismissal of your case. 

What Should I do if I am Charged with a Misdemeanor in Texas?

Anyone charged with a misdemeanor in Texas should take their case seriously. Contact an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to discuss the case. If you are being contacted by the police, it is not advisable to make any statements without first consulting with an attorney, as something you say could be used against you in the future. You should be concerned about how a misdemeanor charge will look on your criminal record. At Mercer & Keirnan, our number one goal is to keep our clients' criminal record clean. 

bottom of page